Don Broco – Technology – ALBUM REVIEW

Don Broco deserve an award for the length of Technology’s lead time.

The first single from the album, Everybody, was released back in July 2016. Over the course of the past 20 months the band have released five other singles from their third full-length, keeping fans sated as the highly anticipated release date approached.

The singles show a startling amount of range, veering from guitar-driven Pretty (which has a frankly ridiculous amount of random sounds and effects, but somehow works perfectly) to Stay Ignorant, which builds from an understated verse to a tender bridge via the full-frontal aural assault of the chorus.

T-Shirt Song is a particular highlight, vocalist Rob Damiani crooning, “I take my t-shirt off, swing it around my head” during a piano-driven section which makes the song deceptively emotive. Compared to Skindred’s Warning and You Me At Six’s Reckless – both songs known for inciting t-shirt swinging in a live environment – T-Shirt Song can be described as beautiful, but if it gets the job done it doesn’t matter that it’s a slower piece.

With six songs showcased prior to release you might think that the majority were already available, but you’d be mistaken. Technology is comprised of fourteen songs, with two bonus tracks and a hidden track completing the deluxe edition. It’s a sprawling collection, but it maintains a startling level of cohesion.

This is achieved due to the unique nature of Don Broco’s sound. At points, it’s as though the instruments of bassist Tom Doyle and guitarist Simon Delaney are having a conversation, guitar and basslines intricately weaving together and becoming almost inseparable. This is particularly evident during Stay Ignorant and Greatness.

Meanwhile, drummer Matt Donnelly steps into the role of co-vocalist throughout the album. Donnelly performs lead vocals on Come Out To LA, but he contributes a notable amount to the majority of the tracks on Technology. His tone perfectly complements that of Damiani, who pushes his voice to its full potential, hitting previously unexplored notes during both The Blues and Tightrope.

Technology is the sound of a band with a mission in mind. Criticising those who obsess over social media “non-stop, 24/7”, this album is social commentary at its finest. Good Listener addresses the possibility of devices listening into your conversations (“So I’m talking to my mum and she asks what I’m having for tea/Then I turn my Google on, up it pops, rice and chili con carne”), while Come Out To LA explores the rise and fall of the fame hungry who “break down in Hollywood”.

Then there’s bonus track Potty Mouth, which appears to be a direct attack aimed at the band’s previous record label, Sony. The Bedford four-piece released one album via Sony – Automatic ­– a release which threw them into the mainstream but also caused the band to lose the style they’d carefully honed on debut album Priorities. With a lacklustre “la-la-la-la-la” Damiani mocks the easy singalong vocals which ran rampant on their previous album, while Donnelly states “They don’t want no potty mouth on the radio”, an obvious criticism of the current state of the music industry.

Don Broco have managed to blend the best elements of their first two releases, and Technology is bound to appeal to those who have followed the band since the beginning and those who have only recently discovered them. With Bring Me The Horizon’s influence shining through on Porkies and ¥ seeming to be a response to Sia’s Chandelier, you’ll be hard pressed to find a more interesting album (with the exception of Got To Be You, the only forgettable song out of the 14).

It’s only February, and Don Broco may have just released 2018’s best record.


  1. Pingback: cialis online
  2. Pingback: online cialis
  3. Pingback: how to get cialis
  4. Pingback: top ed pills
  5. Pingback: rx pharmacy
  6. Pingback: pharmacy online
  7. Pingback: pharmacy online
  8. Pingback: cialis mastercard
  9. Pingback: Buy cialis online
  10. Pingback: levitra coupon
  11. Pingback: order levitra
  12. Pingback: vardenafil price
  13. Pingback: play casino online
  14. Pingback: buy cheap viagra
  15. Pingback: buy cialis
  16. Pingback: loan online
  17. Pingback: pay day loans
  18. Pingback: wrap nederdel kort
  19. Pingback: sacoche puma homme
  20. Pingback: bluza prosto tober
  21. Pingback: fake shoes
  22. Pingback: bts fila
  23. Pingback: cialis 5 mg
  24. Pingback: adidas f50 shoes
  25. Pingback: gtx970 闆绘簮
  26. Pingback: pantalon basquet
  27. Pingback: nike air liberty 1
  28. Pingback: kiabi jean fille
  29. Pingback: blanche
  30. Pingback: jeanne
  31. Pingback: online casino
  32. Pingback: cialis buy
  33. Pingback: boston hat
  34. Pingback: cialis 5 mg
  35. Pingback: cialis buy
  36. Pingback: uggs soldes france
  37. Pingback: cialis buy
  38. Pingback: adidas yeezy v 350
  39. Pingback: brighton taxi
  40. Pingback: to heathrow
  41. Pingback:
  42. Pingback: linea kappa sas
  43. Pingback: nike w air presto
  44. Pingback: schr盲ge gardinen
  45. Pingback: online casinos
  46. Pingback: Yeezy Shoes
  47. Pingback: crampon adidas 47
  48. Pingback: casino slot games
  49. Pingback: Jordan Retro 4
  50. Pingback: Yeezy Shoes
  51. Pingback: Jordan Retro
  52. Pingback: Jordan AJ 1
  53. Pingback: Air Jordan 1
  54. Pingback: Nike Outlet
  55. Pingback: reebok uae shoes
  56. Pingback: Yeezy sliders
  57. Pingback: sweat nike amazone
  58. Pingback: Jordan 4s
  59. Pingback: Nike Outlet
  60. Pingback: Dior Jordan 1
  61. Pingback: byta in sedlar
  62. Pingback: NBA Store
  63. Pingback: Jordan 1s
  64. Pingback: Jordan 11 Concord
  65. Pingback: Yeezy
  66. Pingback: Jordan 1s
  67. Pingback: viagra generic
  68. Pingback: Yeezy Shoes
  69. Pingback: Adidas Yeezy
  70. Pingback: Yeezy
  71. Pingback: Selfie Face Mask
  72. Pingback: Nike Air Max 270
  73. Pingback: NBA Jerseys
  74. Pingback: puma new england
  75. Pingback: cxqw234xracrwcr4
  76. Pingback: Jordan 11 Retro
  77. Pingback: Yeezy Sneaker
  78. Pingback: Human Races
  79. Pingback: buy tadalafil
  80. Pingback: Yeezy Supply
  81. Pingback: Yeezy 380
  82. Pingback: Basketball Jerseys
  83. Pingback: Nike Outlet
  84. Pingback: Yeezy 350
  85. Pingback: viagra
  86. Pingback: Air Jordan 1
  87. Pingback: generic tadalafil
  88. Pingback: Kobe Bryant Jersey
  89. Pingback: Yeezy
  90. Pingback: Jordan 11s
  91. Pingback: uggs grau tief
  92. Pingback: asics gel lyte 2
  93. Pingback: Cheap NBA Jerseys
  94. Pingback: reloj benyar
  95. Pingback: UGG Outlet
  96. Pingback: Yeezy 350
  97. Pingback: Yeezy Boost 350
  98. Pingback: casino slot
  99. Pingback: viagra prices
  100. Pingback: online casinos usa
  101. Pingback: kappa sneaker navy
  102. Pingback: UGG UK
  103. Pingback: buy sildenafil
  104. Pingback: Adidas Yeezy
  105. Pingback: Yeezy
  106. Pingback: bluza jordan black
  107. Pingback: air jordan 1 lila
  108. Pingback: generic sildenafil
  109. Pingback: Timberland Boots
  110. Pingback: Yeezy

Comments are closed.